JBL Control X
$349.95
4.5 (46)
Write a review

Features

null

Powerful, all-weather indoor/outdoor stereo speakers

Ideal for home or businessRugged, weatherized housing protects against the elementsModern, compact design blends into any environment Built-in rear 3/8"-16 threaded insert and security tie-down provide safe installation (mounting hardware included)

null

Engineered to deliver accurate sound

5.25" (130mm) polypropylene graphite-filled cone woofer for deep, powerful bassHigh Definition Imaging (HDI) waveguide provides astounding imaging, natural balance, and remarkable detail from any location1" (25mm) CMMD® Lite tweeter emits crisp, detailed sound

null

Clean, contemporary design

All-new design echoes the best-selling Control form factor with an updated spinSleek, angled profile for a sophisticated, modern lookFront and rear protective rubber trim

null

Built for seamless integration with your system

Gold binding post terminals for a secure, high-quality connection to a receiver or multi-zone amplifierIncludes wall mount brackets that can be rotated, tilted and angled towards the listenerAvailable in black or white finishes

Specs & Downloads

Item# CONTROLXBLKAM

Description

Tough enough for the outdoors. Stylish enough for your living room

For many years, the iconic JBL Control speaker has perfected the combination of compact form and high-performance function. The new Control X packages that same focus on design and sound quality in a rugged, all-weather stereo speaker perfect for indoor or outdoor use. Our High Definition Imaging (HDI) waveguide technology provides astounding imaging, natural balance, and remarkable detail from any location. A 5.25” (130mm) woofer and 1” (25mm) CMMD® Lite tweeter deliver powerful lows and crisp, clean highs from any position whether it’s inside or outside.

General Specifications

Finish
Black / White
Enclosure Type
Ported System
Recommended Amp Power
20-100 Watts
Inputs
Gold-plated 5-way binding posts
Dimensions
9-1/4" x 6-1/2" x 6-1/4" (235mm x 165mm x 158.8mm)

Audio Specifications

Power Handling (Peak)
200/50 Watts
Crossover Frequencies
2300Hz - 12dB/octave
Frequency Response
90Hz - 20kHz (anechoic)
Sensitivity
87 dB
Nominal Impedance
8 Ohm

Speaker Specifications

Low-Frequency Transducer
5.25" (133mm) polypropylene graphite-filled cone woofer
High-Frequncy Transducer
1" (25mm) CMMD® Lite dome tweeter

Dimensions

Weight (kg)
2.63 kg
Weight (lb)
5.8 lbs

What's in The Box?

  • 2 x JBL Control X Speakers
  • 1 x Owner’s Manual
  • 2 x Adjustable wall mount brackets
What's in The Box?

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love my JBL amazing sound awsome clearity the prices are due able. Oh yea my Fav. Is the loudness Amazing
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound from small speakers Impressed at the sound quality and output of these... paired with a subwoofer they provide a rich full spectrum sound. Lovely discreet design as well, I've mounted them under an outdoor BBQ area.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wired versus Wireless I own 3 pairs of these Control X "wired" and 1 pair of the "wireless" version. I like the sound very much of the wired versions. But, the wireless version of this speaker fails to maintain a connection (an association) between the L and R speaker. It appears the "wireless" version of these speakers was so troublesome, JBL stopped selling them. JBL tech support did not know the difference between the Bluetooth radio link and the wireless link between each speaker. Tech support not trained well enough. So, I'm stuck with one non-function wireless pair and 3 wired pairs. Needless to say, nothing with a JBL label on it sounds good if there is a bad experience.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Sound and Build Quality! I purchased the Control X speakers for specific use with my Dolby Atmos surround. Using them currently for the front Atmos speakers. Will most likely buy another pair for the rear. The build quality and sound reproduction is excellent!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I honestly have never been more impressed with a pair of loudspeakers, when price is considered. I love the looks, the build quality, the features and the sound. I sat my pair on top of my Klipsch Cornwalls and compared. Of course the little JBL’s don’t make deep bass...or mid bass for that matter. But somehow the Control X’s managed to sound balanced. The top end, with my Denon amplification was a bit bright, bordering on hot, but at least for my fairly short audition it still sounded good to me. Mids were fine but again, a limited audition. In short, the JBL’s were not embarrassed by the big Klipsch that weigh about 100 lbs each and list for $3000 each. And this was at 85 dB-plus levels. I’m still scratching my head over how this can be, but however it was done, thanks JBL. Very well done!
Date published: 2021-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, Great sound Easy to mount, great sound, great price. I love JBL products and would purchase over all of the high priced brands.
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful sound. These speakers sound great and I am please with them except for the wall mount. What were they thinking? A single ball joint, cantilevering a pretty heavy speaker is a poor idea. It simply won’t hold the weight of the speaker for long. I had to add wooden blocks behind them to keep them from sagging. It not a good idea And it should be changed. Still the sound engineers did a great job and I’ll keep these because they really do sound good. I used a small amp to power them and chrome cast for Spotify. Great paring. Nice bass, smooth mids and highs.
Date published: 2021-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound Love these speakers!! Great buy!! Got as a gift. ❤️❤️❤️❤️
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rear channel add on I'm an old JBL fan. I Have a pair of 4312 Control Monitors up front and mounted the White Control X units on a large beam in my living room. They have excellent sound and visual design I expect from JBL. I also have a pair of JBL Century 100's; Yes I am a JBL fan.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speakers I have owned JBL speakers for almost 40 years. I have the 4311 studio monitors and the L100t3. The Control X speakers have very accurate sound reproduction, not like some of the others that think bass is the most important frequency. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was looking for I was so excited to see these speakers on sale that I guess I didn't read through the description carefully. I had thought they were wireless and they are not. They are also quite large and heavy. So they didn't make sense for me to keep. They look nice, just not what I needed. So I returned them and I give customer service five stars. My rating above reflects my surprise at the size and the weight not overall product performance. I also have purchased a speaker that will do what I really wanted.
Date published: 2021-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mounting Brackets Fail I bought a pair of these six weeks ago and the plastic wall mount bracket has crumbled on both speakers. The speakers sound awesome but DO NOT BUY THEM IF YOU INTEND TO USE THE INCLUDED BRACKETS OUTDOORS.
Date published: 2018-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect JBL sound, as expected We bought the speakers in preparation for a move into our new home, which was being built. Many months later, we are finally moving in and one of the first things I did was to set up the AV equipment. The speakers sound awesome, a perfect complement to our JBL tower speakers. Unfortunately, well tightening one of the wall mounts, it cracked – that is, the ring which tightens around the ball socket. Tried to fix this, unsuccessfully. Is it possible to get a new wall mount? Thank you!
Date published: 2021-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great option for my patio/pool I was debating on buying outdoor wired speakers or using a bluetooth method. I got these on a deal and couldn't be happier. They are heavy little guys and others stated the mounting brackets don't work well but so far I have not had any issues and mine are in Stucco. Sound great and perfect size for the patio.
Date published: 2021-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well built and should weather well out doors The speakers are easy to mount outside. However, the ball and socket plastic mount will not fit tight enough to allow the speakers to be suspended in my chosen position without a support. I did not want to over tighten the plastic nut so I made do.
Date published: 2021-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement Speakers Replace similar JBL speakers with 6 1/2” driver. Like the new smaller size, my rear surround are the 4” driver version, and the cases are almost the same size. Good sound for an outdoor speaker.
Date published: 2021-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speakers I have used these speakers for over 2 years and they perform great! Sound and bass is awesome and they connect almost too easily to by Android phone.
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound easy Install Hooked them up to a small amp and Bose SoundTouch wireless adapter. Now I have the same sound outside and inside and the entire install took 1 h
Date published: 2021-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome loudspeakers for any application I purchased this speakers to connect them to my arcam sr250 for stereo listening and am very happy with them, can't go wrong with JBL.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Speakers I just installed in my garage, i likes them enough to order a second pair to use in garage and outside, so far great speakers
Date published: 2021-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the deck; sound is better than I would have expected for speakers at the price I paid for them.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Speakers I bought these speakers off the jbl web site. Seems to be good. Wish they could handle a little more bass
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased these speakers a few weeks ago and couldn't be happier. They are compact and sound great.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent speakers Theses speakers are really loud,they sound really good and a good bass,you cant go wrong with jbl
Date published: 2021-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these speakers never knew sirus could sound good outside Easy to put up. It took less than 20 minutes to install
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They sound amazing I bought these a week ago and I find myself going out to my yard every day to listen to them now.
Date published: 2021-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound for small speaker This is a very good deal. Clear sound, Good price. Small speaker that doesn't use much space.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for patio Purchased two pair for a patio set. Easy to install and sound quality is very good.
Date published: 2021-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not yet! Packaging was great, otherwise, did not connect them yet. Hopefully, this weekend.
Date published: 2021-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wrong item/ I wanted a bluetooth speaker Contact me and explain how to return/ and I'll be purchasing a bluetooth from you
Date published: 2021-04-20
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_controlx, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 86ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

Does this has chromecast built in? Can I create groups with other google speakers?

Asked by: artful7
Our JBL Control X doesn't have Chromecast. It's a pair of passive speakers that needs an amplifier or receiver to put out sound.
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2022-01-11

can I hook these speakers up with speaker wire to a marantz receiver?

Asked by: eddyfrock
The recommended amplifier for our JBL Control X is 20-100 Watts. Please check in with the manufacturer of your receiver to check the specifications.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

Do these speakers require an amp to be used with my desktop computer?

Asked by: cpeters132
Our JBL Control X is a standalone unit and no need for an amplifier can be connected or added. To learn more about this product, here's the specification sheet link: https://bit.ly/3ulyyiD
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I'm looking at getting these for my patio. But it is very unclear if I can just buy these and they will work right out of the box or do I need anything els? Also are they Bluetooth?

Asked by: Lucass89
Our JBL Control X is a standalone unit and no need for an amplifier can be connected or added. Also, it's not a Bluetooth capable device.To learn more about this product, here's the specification sheet link: https://bit.ly/3ulyyiD
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2022-07-07

Arena 180 dual and the Control X , which one gives you more base ?

Asked by: Soul brother
Hi! Based on the specifications of the two speakers, the Arena 180 will provide better bass than of the Control X. If you would have more questions regarding the two products, please reach us at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html. Our team will be more than glad to further assist.
Answered by: Gian at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What are the dispersion angles of this speaker?

Asked by: SebastianDK
Dispersion angle are usually calculated on high-end and professional speakers, which the Control Xs are not. The Control X are great wall-mountable all-weather speaker which will perform great if placed facing towards the listening position.
Answered by: Ren at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does control x Come with wall mount, Can I connect 4 speakers to Crown XLS1502, if yes how would be its connection ?

Asked by: Raaj
The JBL Control X comes with a wallmount. As for the Crown amplifier, it can only handle 2 speakers so it cannot connect with 4.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I have an existing Bose V100 mounted on the ceiling (facing the floor) for ATMOS system. I will replace them with 2-way speakers and will utilize the same Pinpoint bracket. Is it recommended to mount the Control X on the ceiling facing the floor?

Asked by: Pio Jr
We would like to work with you directly. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is the JBL ControlX suitable for out door use near sea frontage

Asked by: Himaj
Absolutely. The CONTROL X Wireless is an all-weather stereo speaker perfect for indoor or outdoor use.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

are two speakers connected by wire ?

Asked by: pawan
No. Each speaker must be connected to a receiver/amplifier in order to function.
Answered by: Joe At Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can i get the control x wireless speakers in the uk?  I cant see it for sale anywhere?

Asked by: JonSwin
Hi Thank you for you interest in JBL Control X wireless. We do not currently have a release date for the European market for this speaker.
Answered by: Mogens
Date published: 2021-06-06

Will these speakers work with my JBL 5.1 Surround Sound Bar & Subwoofer (without detachable speakers)? Is there a way to integrate them with the sound bar?

Asked by: chipelm
Our JBL Control X cannot be connected to our JBL Bar 5.1 or any other soundbar.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can these be used with the AVR 1510S?

Asked by: alek
Yes, These speakers can be used with the AVR 1510s as the speakers can handle 20-100W at 8 ohms while the AVR 1510S drives 75W per channel at 8 ohms which is within it's specifications.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Shame they aren't available in the Uk.  Would the US product work in UK if i can ship some or buy some next time in US?

Asked by: JonSwin
Hi I have just checked - Control X is now available in UK web-site now. http://uk.JBL.com/loudspeakers/CONTROL+X.html I hope you become the happy owner of a set soon.
Answered by: Mogens
Date published: 2021-06-06

what is this speakers weather/water rating i plan to purchase speakers to put on my front porch which is not covered very well. how resistant is it to snow and rain?

Asked by: Jeff2794
These are all-weather speakers, but not waterproof speakers. They can survive outdoors nicely, but cannot be directly exposed to the elements (sun, rain, snow). So, when installing these outdoors, you will need to put them under an eaves, or in a place where the elements will not hit them directly.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi guys,I’m looking for advice Control X or Control 25 AV for outdoor speakers. Which will have better sound? Thanks 

Asked by: D Dimov
I would personally recommend getting the JBL CONTROL 25 AV, since it would be able to a deeper bass with a frequency response of 70-23,000 Hz (-10dB). Aside from that the cabinet and grille can be painted to match your decor and it has warranty coverage of 5 years for parts and labor.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

can it be connected to any Bluetooth enabled device or i phone only

Asked by: pawan
The CONTROL X is a passive speaker that must be connected to a receiver/amplifier in order to function. If you are looking for a powered speaker with wireless connectivity, you should check out the CONTROL X WIRELESS.
Answered by: Joe At Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

do these speakers come with brackets to hang?

Asked by: Murph
As shown above in "what comes in the box", the package/speaker comes with 2 wall mount brackets.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can these be mounted on a concrete ceiling using the wall mount provided in the box?

Asked by: buxx
The included brackets are for wall-mounting only. Ceiling-mounting these JBL Control X speakers is not recommended, regardless of the bracket used.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Which brand and model of amp will be recommended to have 4 speakers installed.

Asked by: Frankistar0
You could get any 4 channel home amplifier with at least 100 Watts of power on each channel.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi. which wall speakers can I use to connect straight to a TV without a need for a receiver or an amp? Thanks, Hung.

Asked by: NguyenVA
You cannot wire a speaker directly to a TV. TVs do not have enough power to drive the CONTROL X or any passive speaker of any sort. If you are looking for a unit that will replace your TV speakers to improve your viewing/listening experience without the need of getting a receiver, your best bet is our Soundbars that you can directly connect to your TV. http://www.jbl.com/soundbars/
Answered by: Ren at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hello...i have received the speakers as gift...But i am not getting how to connect it and the manual also didn't help me much. It says..it should be connected to amplifier/receiver. Can i please know what does that mean in layman terms?

Asked by: krishna agarwal
The JBL CONTROL X speakers must be connected to a device called a receiver, which takes the audio from a source such as a CD player or a mobile phone, and amplifies it so that the audio can be heard through the speakers. If you go to the harmanaudio.com website and hover over Home Audio in the top menu bar, then select Receivers & Amplifiers, you will see several. The HK 3700 would be a good match for these speakers. In fact, any receiver with a maximum output rating of 100 watts at 8 Ohms should work fine with them.
Answered by: Drin at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

This may seem like a very odd question, but do the rear ports have any protection inside to prevent pests from going in ? :) Esp since this is also an outdoor speaker

Asked by: Ashdd
Hi, Unfortunately the rear port does not have any protection screen that prevents pests from coming in the speakers but I believe this is a rare case in itself since pests would not go inside a loud speaker due to it's vibrations when playing music.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

why made in china? where are the u.s. made control x?

Asked by: nelps
The parts of these unit are made in U.S and are just assembled in China that is why it was labeled as made in China.
Answered by: Dan E
Date published: 2021-06-06

The secondary speaker is.fully charged but the main shows red light and then turns off

Asked by: Winsome
The colors of the LED indicators showing on our JBL Control X are only white or blue. We'd like to work with you directly with set up and troubleshooting. Please reach out to our Customer Support.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

How differrent btw JBL control x speaker and JBL control X-WHT speaker ?

Asked by: Chai2
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you: https://bit.ly/36q7t27
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is Country of origin and HS code please

Asked by: Rocka66
The Country of Origin for our JBL Control X is China as it's mass-produced there. As for the HS Code, after intensive research, the general code we could find is 85182200 (HS Codes Classification of Multiple loudspeakers, mounted in the same enclosure). Due to the fact that this code isn't something we classify ourselves, in the future, we recommend using an HS Code lookup service instead for faster results. Thanks for understanding.
Answered by: Homer DLR
Date published: 2021-06-06

Are these Bluetooth and and they be paired with a July xtreme?

Asked by: Timdots
The CONTROL X is a passive speaker. This speaker must be connected to a receiver/amplifier in order to perform. It is not Bluetooth and cannot be paired to anything.
Answered by: Joe At Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What HK amps are able to connect wirelessly to the Control X? How do you connect the wireless Control X speakers to the amplifier / receiver?

Asked by: Billy Devo
There are no HK amps/receivers that work on wireless speakers as of the moment. You can connect them through wired connection from the receiver to the speaker.
Answered by: Mario at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Are these magnetically shielded? I plan to use them as my height channels in an Atmos set up. 

Asked by: WillMah174
Our JBL Control X isn't shielded and while they will work as height speakers, we don't recommend mounting them to a ceiling.
Answered by: Leon at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_controlx, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 145ms
  • questions, product

Support

Register your JBL product

Do you own this product? Register it here in case you need to claim warranty

Register Now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Are you looking for product support, documentation, how-tos or older products?

JBL Support