S2-1224SS
$259.95
4.8 (10)
Write a review

Features

null

Slipstream™ port design

At high sound pressure levels, air flow turbulence inside a vented enclosure’s port can create noise that sounds like woofer break up. The patented Slipstream port in Series II enclosure uses a double-flared design to minimize turbulence, and eliminate unwanted vortices.

null

SSI™ (Selectable Smart Impedance)

Most car audio system designs call for 2- or 4-ohm impedance. Series II subwoofers feature an exclusive dual impedance switch that lets you choose either load impedance option. Not available from any other manufacturer, SSI lets you reconfigure your system by simply flipping a switch.

null

High-roll surround

Series II enclosure incorporate a high-roll surround that provides superior cone edge suspension while maximizing excursion. It not only increases the cone area, it also provides remarkable linear stability and reliability.

null

Proprietary cone design

JBL subwoofer cones aren’t just built to thump, they’re built to last. Series II enclosure feature an exclusive cone design that delivers superior rigidity for long-lasting performance.

null

Long excursion design

The longer a subwoofer’s excursion is, the more air it moves. And the more air it moves, the more bass you feel. The long-excursion design in Series II enclosure ensures big, deep bass output. Just the way you like it.

Specs & Downloads

Item# S2-1224SS

Description

Our patented port brings the bass, not the noise.

Series II enclosure deliver the enhanced efficiency and higher output of a vented enclosure, without the distracting noise or “chuffing” generated by a port. The patented Slipstream port dramatically reduces port noise at high sound pressure levels by minimizing airflow turbulence. With high-roll surrounds, proprietary cone design and long-excursion, Series II enclosure deliver deep, powerful bass, with greater accuracy than conventional ported boxes. And the exclusive SSI™ (Smart Selectable Impedance) switch lets you choose 2- or 4-ohm impedance for maximum configuration flexibility. It’s everything you want in a compact, easily installed enclosure.

General Specifications

Description
12" (300mm) Slipstream ported enclosure
Impedance
2 or 4 ohms, switch-selectable

Audio Specifications

Power Handling (RMS)
275 W
Power Handling (Peak)
1100 W
Frequency Response
25Hz – 175Hz
Sensitivity
93 dB

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hits hard and smooth! Like the title states, it hits hard, and it hits smooth. Moves my entire car in all the right ways. Definitely a smart purchase, and a great deal for a beautiful box and sub. This sub blows my old one out the door, and I couldn't be happier that i picked one up.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's very good. My friend (who has 2 15 sundowns, and 4 10s (all homemade)) was even impressed by how loud this thing can get. I'm running it w a $150 hifonics mono amp and it works perfectly. 4gauge installgear wiring was like 30$. It's been a month and had no issues. Vibrates rear view mirror like crazy! Can't rate on durablility yet because I've been running it very conservatively at 4ohms even tho the amp is rated for 1. Don't even need bass boost w this baby!
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Subwoofer I bought this for my project car. The fit was very tight but the sound is awesome...
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bass I have had jbl speakers for over 30 years and I really like its sound and power
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from useful sub Not a spl sub, but souds pretty good. I have owned this for a while and it gives 800w with mds xtr t1 amplifier (2ohm with own wires) its not the best or the worst but between that✌
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality subwoofer enclosure Bumps sick ..love it ,...also installed 6” . 2 ways in deck ..sounds like a concert in my car
Date published: 2019-04-02
  • y_2023, m_1, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_s2-1224ss_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

Is there a grill that i can purchase the goes over the speaker

Asked by: papaguru
There's no available grille for our JBL S2-1224SS. This model was not made with a grille.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this ported box include the subwoofer as well?

Asked by: loganmetz
Yes it does. The ported box includes the Subwoofer.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you put this subwoofer laying Down in a trunk if it is to tall?

Asked by: Jp48942
Hi! Yes that would be fine as long as it fits your car's trunk and it would not affect the audio quality of the subwoofer.
Answered by: Nick F
Date published: 2021-06-06

Anyone got a good cheap amp for this? Like $100 dollarish...

Asked by: Drewburr12
Our JBL Club 5501 should be enough to power your JBL S21224SS. If you're looking for the best amp, you could go with the JBL Stadium 600.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the best amplifier for this subwoofer

Asked by: BigFella74
The best amplifier for the S2-1224ss would be the GX-A3001 since it can handle 275W at 4 ohms while the amp drives 200W at 4 ohms, but since that specific amp is not available. The next in line would be the JBL Club 5501 which drives 370W at 4 ohms, It may be too much for the sub can handle but it can still play it as long as you don't push the volume up too much, It should still be fine.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Do you have to buy an amplifier for it or is it built in

Asked by: T_z1
Hi, Thank you for your question. Yes, this is a passive subwoofer that requires an amplifier to work. You can also see the installation process in our owner's manual. If you need more information, please contact our helpdesk.
Answered by: Danny HARMAN
Date published: 2021-06-06

I just bought the club 5501 and was wondering which subwoofer would be a good fit for my mk5 volkswagen gti

Asked by: Alexcondeac
I can recommend the Club WS1200 or the S3-1224 if you are going to use the S2-1224SS ported enclosure. We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Steven M
Date published: 2021-06-06

What cables do I need for this

Asked by: Owen
Hello! Thank you for your message! You will require at least 0.5mm2 (20 AWG) speaker wire for the connections to the enclosure.
Answered by: Marius S
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hello, what is the best JBL amplifier for this sub ? I mean an exact product like GX-A3001 or CLUB 5501 or something that will fit better with this sub. Thanks !

Asked by: spusLuci
The GX-A3001 is a better choice than the CLUB 4505. Since this sub can handle 275 RMS in 2 or 4 ohms, the GX's 300 watt RMS at 2 ohms will service better.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

If I wanted to buy the S3-1224 sub later down the line, would it likely fit into this enclosure?

Asked by: joshy_bennett
We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What are the dimensions of the S2-1224SS. Length,width and height 

Asked by: CJsmith
As shown above on the spec sheet, the S2-1224SS has a dimension of (L x W x H) 600 x 330 x 415 (mm).
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hello. I want to buy this with a GX-A3001 amplifier for my BMW 4 Series. Do you thing it will be a good match the sub and amp with my car?

Asked by: Gabitzooo1
Hi. Yes, this should be a very good match, and work fine in your car. You will want to secure free passage of sound from the trunk into the cabin, if those are separated by sound-proofing materials.
Answered by: Bo Harman
Date published: 2021-06-06

What amp would be best paired with the S2-1224ss Sub? 

Asked by: JonP
The JBL Club 5501 should be enough to power your JBL S21224SS. If you're looking for the best amp, you could go with the JBL Stadium 600.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

What's the difference between a car subwoofer and a normal subwoofer say, like one you'd put in your living room

Asked by: Mattinator3512
When you hook up a subwoofer to your home audio or home theater system, you will probably notice that you must plug the subwoofer into an electrical outlet. Power requirement is 110 volts. This is because most home subwoofers have a self-contained amplifier used to power the subwoofer only. In most cases, home speakers will be rated at 8-ohms. On the other hand, most (although not all) cars subwoofers are what are known as passive subwoofers. Power requirement is 12 volts. Car subwoofers are usually wired to an external amplifier used to drive the speaker. In most cases, car speakers will be rated at 4-ohms.
Answered by: Mark at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I write from Italy. I would like to master this subwoofer with my Zapco ST-4X 160W RMS amplifier. Possible or too few 160W RMS? Thank you.

Asked by: Leo90
The S2-1224SS can handle 275 watts of RMS power handling whether switched to 2-ohms or 4-ohms. This means that any amp with an impedance of 2 or 4 ohms and a power output of 275 watts per channel will work fine with these speakers. That said, the Zatco ST-4X is compatible with this speaker. Note, because the speaker demands more power than your amp can provide, you might not be able to crank it as loud.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Will this sub work with the JBL Club 4505 - 5 channel amp if I connect it together with my JBL component club 6500c door speakers and my JBL rear GX962. Will the same amp power all 5 channels ?

Asked by: AAMS
Hi! Yes, the S2-1224SS will work with the Club 4505 since the amp has 5 channels. It can power up your front and rear speakers together with the subwoofer.
Answered by: Nick F
Date published: 2021-06-06

What size subwoofer?

Asked by: Ceddy
The S2-1224SS showcases a 12" (300mm), 275W RMS subwoofer with SSI™ that allows you to choose between 2 and 4-ohm impedance with a flip of a switch.
Answered by: Ren at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I really like this sub, the design is amazing. Is this compatible to Boss Riot 1100W model #: R1100M amplifier?

Asked by: Allhan
I did research boss riot its not for subwoofer. Is GTX500 is compatible to the sub
Answered by: Allhan
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I was just wondering if this sub with the GX-A3001 amp would sound good in a 2011 Toyota Camry? 

Asked by: JMP23
Yes, It should be able to produce bass with the 2011 Toyota Camry.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I have ordered this and I have a 600w kicker amp, will this work if I just set the gain low? What would be better 2ohm or 4ohm. 

Asked by: Jack11
We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the tuning frequency of the box?

Asked by: Donny48
Hi Thank you for your question I'm not sure what you mean by "tuning frequency of the box." The subwoofer has a frequency response from 25 - 175 Hz. If this is not the answer you were looking for please feel welcome to contact our help-desk and we will do our best to assist you. Have a nice day
Answered by: Mogens
Date published: 2022-08-05

Compared to the GT5, which has a deeper bass?

Asked by: Mr Smiley
Thank you for your question, since i do not own the GT5, by looking at the specs, frequency response is the same, but the GT5 is slight louder thatn the S2-1224SS
Answered by: Randy at JBL
Date published: 2021-06-06

WHAT THE PRICE ON THE JBL 12 INCH S2-1224SS SLIPSTREAM PORTED ENCLOSURE

Asked by: DENNY1437
Our JBL S2-12244SS's retail price is $259.95. For more information about the product, check it out here: https://www.jbl.com/S2-1224SS.html
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2022-01-18

Will this fit in my single cab 01 Dodge Ram?

Asked by: cp17
Thank you for your question, different vehicle may have different size of box, here is the dimension of the unit Dimensions: Length: 22-1/2" (570mm) Width: 12-7/16" (315mm) Height: 15-3/16" (385mm)
Answered by: Randy at JBL
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is this product available in India? If available how can I get this and how much is the cost for this?

Asked by: Devilal
Thank you for your interest in our products. Please contact our local support in India for assistance in checking the availability of our JBL S2-1224SS: https://support.jbl.com/in/en/#call
Answered by: Leon at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the max watt peak?

Asked by: Keegs9621
Thank you for your question, power handling is 250W RMS and 1000 Peak Power
Answered by: Randy at JBL
Date published: 2021-06-06

What AMP do you recommend for this product

Asked by: ebigs16
Any of our car amps should work, though there are several factors that we would need to consider such as the vehicle where you are installing it, the price, and other speakers that you are connecting to it. We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Steve S
Date published: 2021-06-06

Will it fit my 2001 Honda Civic ex Sedan in trunk? If so which wires do I need? And do I have to hook it up to my battery car? 

Asked by: Ruben1997

Which JBL amplifier do you recommend for this Sub-woofer?

Asked by: Spoke

Ho i just bought this subwoofer how can i wire the light ? I this subwoofer have bass lights .

Asked by: Robertho
  • y_2023, m_1, d_26, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_s2-1224ss_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • questions, product

Support

Register your JBL product

Do you own this product? Register it here in case you need to claim warranty

Register Now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Are you looking for product support, documentation, how-tos or older products?

JBL Support