JBL Xtreme 2
$229.95 Price reduced from $249.95 to Save 8%
4.3 (1293)
Write a review
JBL Xtreme 2 Wireless Bluetooth Streaming - Image

Wireless Bluetooth Streaming

Wirelessly connect up to 2 smartphones or tablets to the speaker and take turns enjoying immersive stereo sound.

JBL Xtreme 2 Up to 15 hours of playtime - Image

Up to 15 hours of playtime

The built-in rechargeable Li-ion battery supports up to 15 hours of playtime and effortlessly charges your device via an USB port.

JBL Xtreme 2 IPX7 waterproof - Image

IPX7 waterproof

Take the Xtreme 2 to the beach or the pool without worrying about spills or even submersion in water.

Features

JBL Xtreme 2 JBL Connect+ - Image

JBL Connect+

Amplify your listening experience to epic levels and rock the party perfectly by wirelessly connecting more than 100 JBL connect+ enabled speakers.

JBL Xtreme 2 Speakerphone - Image

Speakerphone

Take crystal clear calls from your speaker with the touch of a button thanks to the noise and echo cancelling speakerphone.

JBL Xtreme 2 Durable fabric and rugged material - Image

Durable fabric and rugged material

The durable fabric material and rugged rubber housing allows your speaker to outlast all of your adventures.

JBL Xtreme 2 JBL Bass Radiator - Image

JBL Bass Radiator

Dual passive radiators deliver powerful, ear catching JBL sound that resonates loud and clear.

POWERFUL
SOUND

A portable speaker that truly packs a punch — featuring upgraded drivers that offer big, bold sound.

LIFE
PROOF

IPX7 waterproof design and durable fabric means this speaker is up for any adventure. Just like you.

15 HOURS
OF PLAY

This speaker starts the party and finishes it. Built with 15 hours of battery, because a full day should be full of sound.

GRAB
AND GO

Harness the power of portable sound. Includes a carrying strap so you can bring it anywhere, and a bottle opener so you can celebrate when you get there.

Specs & Downloads

Item# JBLXTREME2BLKAM

Description

Unleash powerful sound everywhere

JBL Xtreme 2 is the ultimate portable Bluetooth speaker that effortlessly delivers dynamic and immersive stereo sound. The speaker is armed with four drivers, two JBL Bass Radiators, a rechargeable 10,000mAh Li-ion battery supporting up to 15 hours of playtime. On top of these, the speaker carries a convenient USB charge out. The speaker is IPX7 rated, featuring a waterproof design, with rugged fabric in exclusive colors complementing the Xtreme 2. Together with JBL Connect+ it can wirelessly link more than 100 JBL Connect+ enabled speakers to elevate your listening experience and making the party even bigger. The speaker carries integrated hooks, a durable metal base, and an added bottle opener to the carrying strap adding to the consumer convenience level whilst on the go. Not to forget it's just as well a perfect audio solution for any home. Whether in the living room, poolside, or tailgating for the big game, the JBL Xtreme 2 brings bold sound, wherever!

General Specifications

Maximum music playing time (hrs)
15
Output power (W)
2 x 20W RMS Bi-amp

Audio Specifications

Dynamic frequency response range (Hz)
55Hz–20kHz

Dimensions

Dimensions (cm)
28.7 x 13.7 x 10.7
Dimensions (in)
11.3 x 5.4 x 4.2
Weight (kgs)
2.39
Weight (lbs)
5.27

Control and Connection Specifications

Bluetooth profiles
A2DP V1.3, AVRCP V1.6, HFP V1.6, HSP V1.2
Bluetooth frequency
2.402 – 2.480GHz
Bluetooth transmitted modulation
GFSK, π/4 DQPSK, 8DPSK
Bluetooth transmitter power
0-12.5dBm
Bluetooth version
4.2

Battery

Battery Type
Lithium-ion Polymer 36Wh
Charging time (hrs)
3.5

Features

3.5 mm audio cable Input
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
Charging cable
Yes
JBL Connect+
Yes
Powerbank
Yes
Speakerphone
Yes
Wireless
Yes
Rechargable battery
Yes

What's in The Box?

  • 1 x JBL XTREME 2
  • 1 x Power adaptor
  • 1 x Strap
  • 1 x Quick-Start Guide
  • 1 x Safety Sheet
  • 1 x Warranty Card
What's in The Box?

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Sound for it's size I love music. I surround myself in it. When I bought my Side x Side, everyone else spends $1000+ for stereos to run Bluetooth. I bought a Fire Extinguisher mount, mounted this to the underside of my roof above my rearview mirror. Works great! Strap it in the mount and I can ride all day listening to tunes and sounds amazing. Plenty loud over Can Am X3 engine noise. I can take it out anytime to charge it or to use it elsewhere. Amazing little speaker. CONS: I am disappointed that it doesn't charge also through 12v. That would have been helpful to keep it plugged in while riding. I wish there were grated covers on the ends or some type of cover. I don't need to see the mini sub flex. I'd rather have it protected.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ever! Well I just got my Xtreme 2, it’s been such a great experience so far, the only thing is that at high volume I could hear some sort of static sound, which is weird because I barely got it. I had some problems with my Charge 3, as soon as the bass hits, very loud static sound would be released, I made some research and I found out that one of the cables of the left speaker was loose. That cable was the cause of the static sound. I don’t want that to happen to my brand new Xtreme 2. But so far, this speaker has been the best, I am very satisfied with my purchase!
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Speaker I've had my Extreme 2 for about 1 year now and still very satisfied! Sound is crisp, clear and with ample bass. This speaker is very durable too. I've banged it around and it was accidentally left in the rain but still sounds as good as the day purchased. Battery is legit! Took it out on the lake for about 10 hours of full blast and it still had charge at the end of the day. If there is 1 negative it's that the speaker can sometimes not be loud enough in large areas. But problem solved, i just recently bought another one! Now there's plenty of volume and it's so easy to connect them both! This is by far the best speaker I've experienced within the same price point!
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXACTLY what i had hoped for and More! I take my time and carefully research multiple products before I plunk down my money. After much comparison and great attention to detail, I selected the JBL XTREME 2 as the one product that would best fit all of my desired uses and travels. The TROUBLE WAS ... it was not planned to be released for about TWO MONTHS after I had made my choice! I spent a lot of time CHOOSING ... I hated to spend a lot MORE TIME WAITING! HOWEVER, the wait was more than worth it! I love my XTREME 2 ... I might just buy another one now, and more in the future! I highly recommend the XTREME 2 to YOU!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 times The speaker works fine, but the Bluetooth cuts out intermittently and randomly. It sounds like a cd skipping, sometimes once a day, sometimes 4 times a song. Does not fix itself after disconnecting and reconnecting Bluetooth, turning on/off, or even forgetting the device completely, all of which shouldn’t be a issue in the first place. This is the third jbl speaker I’ve had that’s malfunctioned on me (charge 3 blown speaker, charge 4 replacement turned off randomly after a year of use) I don’t know why I tried again and I will tell everyone I know to invest their money elsewhere when purchasing a Bluetooth speaker.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Buy JBL Products!!! Don't buy JBL products! I bought the original version of the Xtreme and it lasted less than 2 years before the speaker began randomly turning off and on over and over again after about 25 minutes of playing music, rendering the speaker useless. I researched this issue and found it was a known, regularly occurring issue that had happened to multiple JBL customers. I contacted Harman to see if they could help out a long-time customer with a replacement and they refused because I was past the 1 year warranty period. In short, JBL does not stand behind their products, even for known defective products. I do not recommend buying JBL products as they will leave you hanging out to dry.
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Absolutely Amazing Speaker I've owned a JBL Xtreme 2 for almost a year and I have loved this speaker ever since. Pretty much everything about the speaker is great. The sound quality is amazing and has the ability to output a shocking amount of bass. The build quality, waterproofing, and the strap with the bottle opener are excellent. The battery life is somewhere between 15 and 20 hours and I've gone weeks off 1 charge. Outdoors the sound quality is great and remains fairly loud within 30 feet of it. During quarantine, I have used the speaker often as a TV speaker for my LG TV through bluetooth which works very well. After a year of use it works perfectly, I definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really love this product I do not see ANY of the faults identified in other negative reviews. This paired perfectly to my iPhone 10 Max. The sound quality is great. Good bass. It does not drop out. I work from home and like to listen to XMS on while working. The app on my computer always drops audio so I got this after listening to it at our Best Buy. This is my perfect answer. I will admit the vol could possibly be a little louder if I were to take it outside by the pool. But I am 72 and really don't want my music BLASTING. Great job JBL for the quality and so far reliability of this product.
Date published: 2019-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Power button failing Sound is a 15/10, the size and shape is amazing I love JBL, I own some JBL headphones, small speaker, and have bought two Xtreme 2’s. I bought this speaker less than a year ago and now the power button is failing. It doesn’t want to turn on. I loved this speaker SO much I bought my best friend a matching one. It was honestly the highlight of my days coming home and turning it on. It came with me wherever I went, now I’m so extremely sad it doesn’t work. There’s nothing I’d change about this speaker and how it functioned in these months I’ve had it, the only problem is the power button stopped working which is so disappointing.
Date published: 2021-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not turn on - Buyer Beware I got the Xtreme 2 for Christmas and happy with it until now and decided to post a review since I received no constructive feedback from support. I started having trouble turning on the unit when fully charged about a month ago (unit is only 3 months old at the time). I have to press the power button many times in rapid succession for it to turn on. But it turns on just fine while plugged it. I reported this to support and their response was for me to charge the unit after I specifically explained that the unit was fully charged. Very dissatisfied.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid base Had this about a month and had plenty of use around the house and in the garden. Really easy to connect plenty of volume very clear sound with a solid base. Shoulder strap really good but would be better with a handle. Battery lasts for ages.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Excellent!! EXTREME 2" So far I'm very happy with unit and features!! Clear, Crisp and Clarity...Despite what "You Tube" Reviews say That could be based on the First Version This is on The "Extreme 2".... Lets see what Happens with Battery Life....
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bass and sound I was gifted the xtreme 2 for Christmas and before then I was using the clip 2. JBL in general has great speakers overall. My experience so far with the xtreme 2 is great but like most speakers that are waterproof the sound is going to be limited. If your looking for a good, loud, and portable speaker with good bass buy the xtreme. The price is very worth it but my only gripe is the clips for the lanyard scratch and makes what looks like bronze or brass dust everywhere in the crevice of the clips. Other than that this speaker has been the best for the price.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JBL JBL just shut the game down...Bose, and all the rest need to step their game up and fast.
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing loudness compared to xtreme I bought this a few days ago and although the speaker does have good sound overall, I bought it because it advertised to be louder than the original xtreme. Not only is the speaker not as loud as the xtreme, there is a marked difference in loudness between battery mode and AC mode which was never an issue with the original xtreme. If it is a party outdoor speaker why would JBL make the AC mode so much more superior. If they could make the battery mode similar loudness to AC mode I would have rated the speaker higher but at this point I can't help but feel disappointed considering the increased size and weight compared to the older xtreme. The UE megaboom is less than half the weight and plays at similar loudness to the xtreme 2 on battery.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This little(ish) speaker rocks and kicks it. I have owned a few higher priced devices and can truly say "WOW" this thing is great. Strong Base, Good Volume, Clear Sound. Love it!
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome speakers This actually about the JBL Extreme not the 2. I just want to let everyone know what awesome speakers they are. I own 2 the only issue I have had was the speakers would go in and out when paired at up volume. Since they are primarily for in home use, I decided to do something a little different. I purchased a 15 bandl graphic equalizer also because sometimes the speakers had too much base for old songs. I hooked the speakers to the equalizer the results are phenomenal. Going a little further I also purchased a 8 channel mixer and 15 “ loudspeaker. The JBL Speakers keep up with the loudspeaker with no trouble so now I have an awesome home system. The cords can be a bit of a pain but well worth the sound. I have enough cable to place the speakers anywhere or all over my home if I choose and if I go anywhere anywhere i do have the Bluetooth. My batteries are great no problems at all. Thx JBL for making such a great product.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Xtreme 2 I preordered it a month ago no regrets it's all I expected great features and quality sound. Love it
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this speaker a month or 2 ago. I loved it for the first two weeks especially being deployed gave us something to listen to. I read the reviews and it looked like a great speaker and looked super durable. So I bought it and got it sent here and after 2 weeks it just stop charging fully. It only charges to 2 maybe 3 bars and I leave it on the charger for days, just trying to see if it go past 3 bars but it doesn't. So now I'm stuck with a speaker that doesn't want to charge. So at the end of the day I wasted my money and now I'm questioning about JBL speakers as a whole.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab product Excellent addition to the family home. Durable to with stand the knocks and bumps of busy household, while providing good quality sound. The battery life withstands the extensive usage of the teens ...
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Speaker -But not work with MacBook Pro This speaker sound very excellent!!!! many people even mention that this speaker is not loud, but for me sound come from this speaker is very very comfortable to ears, as per my understanding this is called Professional sound!!! Even-though why I put two stars??? Just after I bought this speaker I update firmware to 1.6.0 (that is the latest one so far. However I can't connect this speaker vis bluetooth to my MacBook Pro. I mean even it connect ,it does not apper under setting --->sound (output) section. JBL: Please resolve this issue with next firmwear upgrade. Then ill give 5 Stare.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Returning my Xtreme 2 Having never purchased the previous Xtreme model, I was very excited to buy version 2. It sounds great! Very balanced sound with great bass response. My biggest problem is the max volume. We bought this speaker to play outside by our pool. The volume is maxed out and it’s unfortunately not loud enough. Reading other reviews and it appears I’m not alone in my volume complaints. It’s a shame because I really wanted to like this product.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds great! Crystal clear sound with great bass! I had the charge 4 but wish I had gotten the extreme 2 instead, so i made it work! I love this speaker! It sounds great literally anywhere! Great bass and fantastic stereo sound! Once you hold the Xtreme 2 you can tell its probably one of the most rigged speakers you can get which is awesome seeing how I'm always on the go! Plus I love my great sounding music! It is alittle pricey but if you can get past that this speaker is worth every penny!
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect beach buddy got this last year at a reasonable price of £200. what can i say, this speaker is great! warm deep bass with a detailed sound signature. great design, (some Bluetooth speakers look very tacky) get around 7 to 8 hrs of playback at 2 thirds volume playing bass heavy music, (bass being the biggest power drain) any higher than 2 thirds volume and the bass does start to fall away but still plenty loud enough. the carry strap is great, bottle opener could been seen as a gimmick but useful i suppose. i use it to loop back to the opposite clip to create a shorter hand carry strap if not carrying over my shoulder.
Date published: 2021-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bass my kids love this very much , they use this everyday
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from connect plus can jbl xstreme 2 and jbl flip 4 connect togetherr
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the sound! It's been over a month and the sound is awesome, seems to be getting better with time.
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome look and fantastic sound! I bought this a few days ago from Best Buy and I was debating on what speaker to buy and this one is hands down imo the best one.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sounds great Great sound and the portability is a nice feature. Battery truly lasts a long time between charges and the BlueTooth connectivity is easy. We also have a Bose SoundDock10, which is not portable. In comparison the JBL is close but I think the Bose gets better bass response at all volumes, where the Xtreme2 bass response is a little weak at lower volumes.
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sound (until I upgraded to firmware 1.9) I originally was looking forward to the new xtreme2 speaker, but then I found out it’s only 20 watts on battery?!!?? WHAT IS JBL THINKING?? And now since I supposedly upgraded to firmware 1.9. (Don’t do it) 1.6 is better.. on 1.9 the bass is weaker on battery, the compression algorithms are worse(speaker looses bass at higher levels, treble is also slightly cut down) but the WORSE is the speaker now compresses audio on AC!!! Are the engineers at JBL losing it? I wish I can go back to Vers 1.6! That actually was better, they still need to enhance the the sound, increase the power to at least 30 watts on battery, we can sure handle losing some battery life for better performance... I might sell this thing if JBL doesn’t make this speaker louder and more powerful than the Xtreme 1 which has boomy bass and harsh treble at higher volumes.
Date published: 2018-09-15
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_579
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblxtreme2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

Does this have an AUX plug?

Asked by: hmnann90
Yes but for some reason when you use it on mine at least there is a slight delay unlike my Xtreme 1
Answered by: Tjsboy45
Date published: 2022-08-15

How do I check the current firmware version of the Extreme 2?

Asked by: Bob C
You can also check the firmware version by pressing the volume down button and the connect + button together and holding them down for 3 seconds. The speaker will then literally speak the firmware version.
Answered by: DJzaba
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you skip a song from the speaker without having to go to your phone to skip?

Asked by: dmdga
Yes, on the speaker press press the play button 2 times to skip tracks, 3 times to reverse tracks, don’t these Jbl “geniuses” know their own product??? 
Answered by: Frank631
Date published: 2021-06-06

How could JBL mislead customers in CES wherein official representative clearly stated that Xtreme 2 will have 50watt of power?? Further, in the spec sheet there is no mention of 3D bass radiator?? @Maria customer service..55-20khz or 70-20kh??

Asked by: srvmj
We apologize for any inconvenience but whatever is mentioned at CES is what is planned - the final product still may change. The official specifications for the JBL Xtreme 2 are: 2 x 20 W (AC Power) 2 x Passive Radiators Frequency Response: 55Hz - 20 kHz If you have any more questions, you may look at the spec sheet for the Xtreme 2 that is available on the JBL. Please also feel free to reach out to us by submitting a case request at www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service team will be more than happy to further assist you.
Answered by: Zoe at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

How do you know when the unit is fully charged? what is the difference between the light being blue vs. white?

Asked by: Arimenta
Please note that there are three different lighting patterns for JBL Xtreme and Xtreme 2 that indicate a fully charged battery. These patterns depend on software in the speaker, and all are correctly indicating full charge. (This cannot be changed by updating.) 1. The five LEDs light up, first one, then two, three, four and five, with the topmost one blinking, and the lower ones lighting constantly. When charging is complete, all LEDs go out. 2. The five LEDs light up, like above. When charging is complete, all five LEDs light constantly. 3. The five LEDs light up, like above. The fifth LED keeps on blinking, with the other ones lighting constantly. When you remove power, all five LEDs light constantly.
Answered by: Bo Harman
Date published: 2021-06-06

How it charges?  Does it have same round pin socket for charging like xtreme ? Or can we charge it via USB also?

Asked by: Inderjit
The JBL Xtreme 2 charger is the same as the original JBL Xtreme. It's a round pin socket and can be plugged into 100-240V outlets with no problem.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

does this speaker work as a speaker phone

Asked by: john2387
Hi! Yes, the Xtreme can be used as a speaker phone.
Answered by: Gian at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, can you charge you mobile through the speaker whilst playing songs?

Asked by: anuszka
Thank you for your question. Whilst this might work, it is not officially supported. Should you wish to receive further support, you may contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html#ns for further details. 
Answered by: Stuart A
Date published: 2021-06-06

So during CES everybody said it's 50 Watts but on here it clearly states 2x20 Watts. Any clarification on that?

Asked by: Malformed
We apologize for any inconvenience but whatever is mentioned at CES is what is planned - the final product still may change. The official specifications for the JBL Xtreme 2 are: 2 x 20 W (AC Power) 2 x Passive Radiators Frequency Response: 55Hz - 20 kHz Battery type: Lithium-ion Polymer 36Wh If you have questions, please feel free to contact your local JBL Support team!
Answered by: Zoe at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

There is 40 watts on AC mode but how many watts are there on battery mode?

Asked by: MBreslin
Hi, JBL Xtreme 2 is rated: AC mode 2x20W DC (Battery) mode 2x10W
Answered by: EL S
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does anyone else have a problem with opening the charger flap I cant get it open!!!literally like new maybe a month old and have only been able to open it twice. I cant get it open any more!!!!

Asked by: Mitchellhaze
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you: https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

In this forum they do not recommend pressing the bluetooth button and the volume down button. How do you return to the original sound? Regards

Asked by: J1982
To be clearer with the combination of bluetooth and VOL (-) buttons, the low frequency mode is activated. My question is how to deactivate that option and how can I return to normal or its audio source. Regards
Answered by: J1982
Date published: 2021-06-06

Do you know what version of Extreme 2 bluetooth current build into the product?

Asked by: Dragon64
Yes we do! Our JBL Xtreme 2 features Bluetooth version 4.2. Check out the full product specifications here: https://www.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw0a333612/pdfs/JBL_Xtreme2_Spec_Sheet_English.pdf
Answered by: Zoe at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is it possible to connect xtreme 2 to a soundbar??

Asked by: Jmactot
Hi, The Xtreme 2 cannot connect to a soundbar since the Soundbars can only receive bluetooth signals and cannot link to other speakers.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Why JBL xtreme 2 is not louder than xtreme 1 despite having larger driver?? What is the meaning of upgrade?? JBL has added 1 kg more in xtreme 2 with compared to JBl xtreme1, but soundwise not upto the mark. What is the goal of JBL??

Asked by: srvmj
Hello! The JBL Xtreme and Xtreme 2 is somewhat similar in specs. You are correct the Xtreme 2 has a bigger speaker driver, although they have the same power rating, the Xtreme 2 has a wider frequency range. it can play lower bass and higher frequencies  compared to the JBL Xtreme.
Answered by: Nick F
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I've watched lots of videos on YouTube about this and I'm just confused because my JBL xtreme 2 doesn't "flex" at all but in many videos online it does

Asked by: Sebsebastian
Thank you for your question. As we are unsure of what you mean when you say "flex", we invite you to contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html for further details. Thank you.
Answered by: Elvira M
Date published: 2021-06-06

I would like to use my JBL Extreme 2 speaker at home permanently connected to the charger. Will this damage the battery over time?

Asked by: adamski1978
That will not damage the battery. Here are the not to do's to prevent damage: -Avoid long-term usage in a high-temperature environment. This will drastically affect battery life and performance. -Avoid charging in the sun. This will drastically affect battery life and performance. -Do not leave the unit fully discharged. This is very bad for the battery. When the unit stops working because the battery is completely depleted, recharge as soon as possible.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can the speaker charge from 12V? It should be enough to charge the 7.4v battery. (I know the original charger provides 19v)

Asked by: TonyGani
The speaker will not charge correctly if you'll use a voltage lower than 19V. You can use a lower current (slower charging) but not a lower voltage.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is there a way to charge the Extreme 2 with a 12 volt power supply?

Asked by: shaynster
The recommended power adapter for our JBL Xtreme 2 should supply 19V 3A. It is not recommended to use a 12 volt power supply for this device.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-28

what are the pros & cons of resetting my JBL Xtreme 2 speaker & updating it's firmware?

Asked by: Barbieken
Thanks for taking the time in asking about our JBL Xtreme 2. Resetting the speaker will restore the speaker to its original system state by erasing all of the information stored on the device in an attempt to restore the device to its original manufacturer settings. On the other hand, doing a firmware upgrade will improve its performance and stability. If you have more questions, please reach us at https://jbl.com/support-contact.html, and our Customer Support Team will be happy to help.
Answered by: Kris A
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can I connect pendrive to listen music? 

Asked by: Jomon
The Xtreme 's USB port cannot be used as a music source. They can be connected via Bluetooth or Auxillary cable only.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I am wondering - I have my Pulse 3 and a Charge 3, I wanted to buy the Xtreme 2 because of connect+, but since that speaker most likely will be sitting on my living room, I wonder if Link 500 is better? My question is - Does link has connect+?

Asked by: Maundler
Unfortunately not, the Link 500 does not have the Connect + feature.
Answered by: Zoe at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I would love to purchase the JBL Xtreme 2 portable Bluetooth speaker in the color PINK. Will the JBL Xtreme 2 portable Bluetooth speaker be available in Pink???

Asked by: Tatah8
We have no news if our JBL Xtreme 2 will be available in pink. You can check out our other portable speakers with pink variants.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the range in feet that you can pair two of these together? I have two extreme 1's and after 10 feet or so they start dropping. Both have latest firmware. Is this improved in xtreme 2 or what waterproof speaker has the longest pairing range?

Asked by: daryl
JBL Xtreme 2 has Bluetooth capability and the Connect+ feature. This is an improved version of Connect, which is what the JBL Xtreme has. The range that these devices can go would normally be up to about 10 meters. Anything more than that, and the signal can get unstable. The surrounding also plays a role in connectivity. Please make sure that there's a clear line of sight between the connected devices for a stable connection.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

I have the JBL Charge 3. I is worth upgrading to the xtreme or the xtreme 2? The xtreme is on sale right now meaning it might be a better deal? If I buy the xtreme, would it be old and useless without connect+? Or doesn’t this count as much? 

Asked by: Hope for reply
We recommend getting the Xtreme 2 over the Xtreme since this has the JBL Connect+ which allows you to connect the Charge 3 (with the firmware update available through the JBL Connect app) to the Xtreme 2 and up to a 1000 other JBL Connect+ speakers. The Charge 3 can still connect to the original Xtreme as long as you have not yet done the firmware update. Buying the original Xtreme is still a good deal, but if you plan to use it with other JBL Connect+ speakers like the Xtreme 2, it will not work. The JBL Connect+ feature is not compatible with the JBL Connect feature. They are mutually exclusive features.
Answered by: Steven M
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can Xtreme 2 Speaker be connected to Google Nest system for playback of music

Asked by: Jethro
We'd like to get more information to help you out with your JBL Xtreme 2, please contact our JBL Customer Support team for assistance: https://support.jbl.com/us/en/.
Answered by: Katrina A
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you link 2 of them and play them in stereo. One left and one right channel?

Asked by: JBLLOVE
Our JBL Xtreme 2 has our Connect + feature, you can connect two of the same models together by using our JBL Connect App. To set up in stereo, you can do it on the app by assigning the left and right channels and enabling stereo mode. Check out page 7 of our Quick Start Guide for more information
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is there a USB charging option for this speaker?

Asked by: mmcfee
Our JBL Xtreme 2 can only be charged using the 19V/ 3A power adapter. It has a USB (port) charge out that you can use to plug and charge your devices because the speaker can also be used as a power bank.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this speaker support LDAC bluetooth audio codecs?

Asked by: smbridges
The JBL Xtreme 2 only supports the following Bluetooth codecs A2DP V1.3, AVRCP V1.6, HFP V1.6, HSP V1.2
Answered by: Nick F
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I bought a JBL Xtreme 2 today and it had firmware 1.2.0.0 installed. It seems there is a firmware 1.6.0.0 that improves the sound, but this update does not show up when I open the JBL Connect app on my iPhone. How can I get the update? Thank you.

Asked by: TheCatastrophist
We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Steven M
Date published: 2021-06-06
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_337
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblxtreme2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 45ms
  • questions, product

Support

Register your JBL product

Do you own this product? Register it here in case you need to claim warranty

Register Now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Are you looking for product support, documentation, how-tos or older products?

JBL Support