JBL Flip 5
$99.95
$139.95 Price reduced from $149.95 to Save 7%
4.3 (1990)
Write a review
JBL Flip 5 Sounds better than ever - Image

Sounds better than ever

Feel your music. Flip 5's all new racetrack-shaped driver delivers high output. Enjoy booming bass in a compact package.

JBL Flip 5 Up to 12 Hours of Playtime - Image

Up to 12 Hours of Playtime

Don't sweat the small stuff like charging your battery. Flip 5 gives you up to 12 hours of playtime. Keep the music going longer and louder with JBL's signature sound.

JBL Flip 5 Make a splash with IPX7 waterproof design - Image

Make a splash with IPX7 waterproof design

Bring your speakers anywhere. Pool party? Perfect. Sudden cloudburst? Covered. Bash on the beach? Flip 5 is IPX7 waterproof up to three-feet deep for fearless outdoor entertainment.

Features

JBL Flip 5 Crank up the fun with PartyBoost - Image

Crank up the fun with PartyBoost

PartyBoost allows you to pair two JBL PartyBoost-compatible speakers together for stereo sound or link multiple JBL PartyBoost-compatible speakers to pump up your party.

JBL Flip 5 A rainbow of colors - Image

A rainbow of colors

With 11 distinct color options, the Flip 5 is anything but boring. Broaden your spectrum with JBL's signature sound.

JBL Flip 5 Tough as it sounds - Image

Tough as it sounds

Slip this little gem onto your wrist and get grooving. Its durable fabric material and rugged rubber housing keep the Flip 5 safe while you let loose in the great outdoors.

Specs & Downloads

Item# JBLFLIP5BLKAM

Description

Bold sound for every adventure

Take your tunes on the go with the powerful JBL Flip 5. Our lightweight Bluetooth speaker goes anywhere. Bad weather? Not to worry. With its waterproof design, you can rock out to our signature sound rain or shine. Move more. Pair two JBL PartyBoost-compatible speakers together for stereo sound or link multiple JBL PartyBoost-compatible speakers to create a bigger party. Enjoy up to 12 hours of play time for your favorite music. Stand it vertical or horizontal and be bold with your choice of 11 vibrant colors.

General Specifications

Maximum music playing time (hrs)
12
Output power (W)
20

Audio Specifications

Dynamic frequency response range (Hz)
65 Hz - 20k Hz

Dimensions

Dimensions (cm)
18 x 7.4 x 6.9
Dimensions (in)
7.12 x 2.91 x 2.71
Weight (kgs)
0.54
Weight (lbs)
1.2

Control and Connection Specifications

Bluetooth profiles
A2DP V1.3, AVRCP V1.6
Bluetooth frequency
2.402 – 2.480GHz
Bluetooth transmitted modulation
GFSK, π/4 DQPSK, 8DPSK
Bluetooth transmitter power
0-11dBm
Bluetooth version
4.2

Battery

Charging time (hrs)
2.5

Features

Bluetooth
Yes
Charging cable
Yes
Waterproof
Yes
Wireless
Yes
Rechargable battery
Yes
JBL PartyBoost
Yes

What's in The Box?

  • 1 x JBL Flip 5
  • 1 x Type C USB cable
  • 1 x Quick-Start Guide
  • 1 x Safety Sheet
  • 1 x Warranty Card
What's in The Box?

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Going on second replacement Our first Flip 5 worked for 2-3 months and then stopped charging and turning on. We got a replacement and that one worked for 1 day before it stopped working. Now they want to send me another new one but I have no desire to keep replacing these things. Such a disappointment.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO SPEAKERPHONE!! BOOOOOOO! How is it an improvement to offer fewer features and capabilities? I would love to see your market research that says your customer base wants devices with LESS functionality!
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speakers !!!! I'm very happy with this purchase. Perfect quality...sounds and design... very good flip 5
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought this 2-3 months ago, great speaker. quality is really amazing for the price. Recommend
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality Sound For A Reasonable Price! This is my second JBL Flip and I am very happy with the sound it produces. Unfortunately my first Flip didn’t last a year (the speaker wouldn’t hold a charge & then the speakers started popping) but after looking at other brand’s speakers, I decided that I was satisfied with getting another JBL Flip. I tried a Sony speaker and returned it the next day because the quality was not to my liking. I reviewed Bose products but they are expensive and the reviews indicate the speakers don’t last very long either. Therefore I would much rather buy a JBL considering it’s price and quality of sound.
Date published: 2020-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive! Extremely happy with this! Bought it to go kayaking with since it's waterproof and came with the wrist strap that I can clip onto my kayak to keep it safe. I was shocked at how loud it gets while still having perfect sound clarity and bass! Perfect size/weight to travel with. I almost got Charge 4 but decided it would be too big for travel. I'm glad I didn't get it because the Flip 5 is really all you need unless you're trying to throw a huge dance party with a lot of people. I originally purchased the white but returned it for fear of it eventually getting dirty or the plastic parts yellowing. Settled on the grey color which is a perfect medium shade that shouldn't show dirt easily and won't absorb lots of heat from the sun.
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Speaker is AWESOME I am a teacher and when we went virtual last year they gave us laptops and the speakers weren't great so I wanted a Bluetooth speaker so that I could hear my students better. This speaker has met and exceeded all my expectations, I could (and can because we're virtual again right now) hear EVERYTHING (sometimes to a fault lol). I am also music obsessed and LOVE to listen to music on this speaker, the bass comes through so clear and the overall sound quality is amazing, I can hear little parts of songs I never previously noticed despite having listened to them many many times. This speaker is WELL worth it.
Date published: 2022-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts Loooooooooong I bought mine at Best Buy after returning a bigger speaker from a different brand. This was half the price as the returned product and it sounds just as good. The battery lasts about 4 times longer than that other one as well. I recently played it for a good 4 hours a day, 3 days in a row without charging it. It's that good.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Speaker But... I ordered about fifteen of these for work. I absolutely love the option to personalize this speaker and the sound quality is great. However, it was very difficult to tell whether it had an internal mic. I read everything I could find on the Flip 5 trying to tell for sure. One page on the Harman website said it did and another said that it did not. Reviews said that it did, so I took a chance. It turns out that while the previous version did and maybe the regular Flip 5 does (?), the personalized one does not. So this doesn't actually does not work for the purpose I needed it for. Since I had mine personalized, they cannot be returned. It's disappointing. At least they look good.
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soooo dissapointed!!!! My wife had the Flip 3 (I think) and we loved this speaker. I purchased the Flip 4 for her after the other got stolen, and we were extremely disappointed to learn JBL Flip speakers (or Charge) have a phone speaker any more. We returned both devices and are now looking to purchase another brand of speaker that offers this feature. This is a really sad thing, as the music quality in these speakers is outstanding. Unfortunately the lack of a phone speaker is a deal breaker. Why did you take away this feature?????
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing sound for the size! I bought my Flip 5 at Best Buy in January this year (with the warranty, of course), and I gotta say, it was the best decision of the month! This thing really packs a punch! It has nice punchy bass and some crisp highs, which personally I really enjoy. The carry-string is pretty useful believe it or not, and can be attached to a bike and be brought anywhere! The speaker has stellar battery life, and can easily last a few hours of gaming, jam sessions, and other instances where no charger is available or necessary. The speaker is not all that durable, as a simple drop could snap the shell or casing right off, but is not that hard to fix. Overall, the Flip 5 is a major go for those seeking a great sounding and compact bluetooth speaker.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another solid speaker from JBL Received this speaker late and wanted some time to really assess its features...i should have known what to expect as I have several other portable Bluetooth speakers from JBL. The Flip5 is a solid a performer for its size..surprisingly solid bass and good volume as expected. Battery life is also very good lasting several hours ( I had to recharge after 10 hours of pretty loud playing) and charges quickly. Comes in a variety of colors and fits easily in a bookbag. My favorite use is taking it to the beach or having it next to me by the pool.. I haven't had the nerve to dunk it but it's x supposedly waterproof up to 3ft. I can say that splashes had no effect and would have probably ruined a regular speaker...overall, very pleased!
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I am bummed. I love JBL products. I have the charge, but it rolled off surfaces too many times just went it’s bumped. Since it’s broken I ordered the flip, rolls even worse so I returned it. These speakers need a sturdy platform on the bottom so they stop rolling.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underwhelming latency, connectivity & consistency More robust sound than prior Bluetooth speakers of this size. But plenty of issues remain. 1) Note stereo mode with multiple speakers requires use of Connect+ App, only available for iPhone and Android mobiles (no laptops or alternate mobile options) 2) Runs on dated Bluetooth 4 which often crackles or has gaps in connectivity 3) Significant latency/lag when syncing audio embedded within a video (if playing a music video the sound won’t line up well) 4) Party mode (multiple speakers not in stereo) will drop out occasionally. 5) Customer support online is not quick to reply to emails or offer much.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice speaker but seems like more of the same. This speaker has excellent battery life and sounds great. The connect feature would be useful but I only have one flip 5. I don't like the fact that the only available way to sit it is on end. The case works well to set it in but it is a little bulky. Bluetooth connectivity works very well. I had my wife use it to compare to her flip 2. She wasn't crazy about the moving ends. Her speaker has fixed ends which she liked better. She was very interested in the longer battery life. Overall this is a great speaker. I compared it to my charge 2 and the bass is not as good. Battery life is much better. This is a nice addition to JBLs Bluetooth speaker lineup but there are not many bells and whistles compared to the existing speakers.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speaker I have a Charge 4 that I can’t live without. The problem is the Charge 4 doesn’t fit in my Jetski so I bought the Flip 5. Very impressed with the sound, it’s almost as good as the Charge 4 sound quality. The only thing I’m not thrilled with is not having the little “stand” area the Charge 4 has. It causes the music to sound a little flat. My husband built a little stand for it to get off the table and fixed it. Sounds great if hanging by the strap though. Fits inside Jetski and that was the goal. Love these speakers and plan to buy more.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Block Rocking Beats I've had this product for two weeks now and i'm really impressed. The sound quality for such a small unit is amazing; the bass is thumping! I take this everywhere with me as its so portable and the battery life is great. It hard to find a good party speaker that runs on batteries, some are very quiet but this has a fantastic volume range. The speaker is even waterproof so you can safely have it by the poolside with you. Its very quick to pair with your phone, and very intuitive..... you dont even need to read the manual. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery not as advertised Bought the flip 5 last week. I will be returning it as the battery did not even last a full round of golf (5hrs) at max volume.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn’t pair with Flip 4 People want to upgrade, not buy a whole new array of speakers. JBL lost my money when it won’t pair with Extreme 2 or Flip 4.
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Product / Personalization Process Not Great I have the JBL Flip 4 personally and have loved it. We were looking for nice Associate gifts and I started looking at the JBL Flip 5. It is great that customization is offered. The online design tool has limitations and some of the color options for casing and base are not clear for matching purposes. When I called in for assistance, the support team could not help. They were friendly and all of that but were not able to help. I did end up ordering 55 of these customized with our company logo etc. The finished product is nice and I hope that I can get the remaining 25 that I need soon.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Much worse than flip 4; never buying a JBL again Before this I had 4 flip 3`s and 4 flip 4`s (stereo setups for home and office) and they worked great. Flip 5 is horrible in that there is constant connection problem. The sound quality is not noticeably better than the flip 4 too. I would have continued using the flip 4s but also unacceptably short battery life and bad quality for the price. After so many products (including several different headphones), I am not planning to go back ever. There are much better quality speakers/headphones around for the price, try B&W or UE
Date published: 2020-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Speakers are great; the app is terrible I bought two Flip5s because we want music in stereo in our small living space. I got the app to allow stereo sound for about two minutes before it reverted to just Partyboost mode. Not a bad sound, just not a stereo sound. The speakers themselves as a stand-alone product are pretty great for Bluetooth. Nice round sound with a bit of bottom. I would give 5 stars if the app didn’t suck so much, and by that I mean it sucks so much.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sound! This little thing really kicks out the sound! I work in a loud factory that allows everyone to have bluetooth speakers at their work stations and I was bringing a cheap litptle speaker that seemed loud when there was no other noise, but didn't cut it in the shop. My teammates all had speakers that sounded great, so I asked them what kind they had. They were all JBLs. So I bought one too. I can finally hear my music and it's never sounded better! It really cranks out the bass too. It has long battery life and long range for bluetooth. My other speakers would drop the connection at about 10 feet, but I can walk around the shop and come back and it's still connected. 10/10 would recommend.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Microphone = No speakerphone You can't make downgrades without saying it. I had the Flip 4 and it was obvious that it would have a microphone.
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound from a durable small speaker. I have had my Flip 5 for almost a year now. It has been a fantastic speaker. The size is good to bring hiking, kayaking, boating and more and the weather resistance brings peace of mind...mine has been wet a few times and it keeps on rocking. Don't let the small size fool you, there is great sound and tonal range from this thing which is exactly what you'd expect from JBL. Even at higher volumes it can fill a good size room with great sound and no distortion. Battery life is great and the bluetooth syncs up every time. Auto power off to save battery when the source gets to far away. I like this enough that I am getting another so I can have one inside and one outside without missing a beat.
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing sound This is a small speaker with amazing sound. Seems very well constructed, all the controls feel solid. The bass out of this little thing is pretty amazing. Could do without the little guitar riffs when you turn it on or off or connect to it.
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from waiting for return/warranty replacement. Wanted the sound of the Clip 2 but louder. This is very bass dominant w/o adjustments. Puts out loud sound, great for pop/rock, over emphasized bass on country. It is louder than the clip, good output. I was so excited to get it, but it randomly shuts off, erratic timing, even when plugged in. There was no low battery noise, the light bar changes color. It just shuts off. I returned/warranty and Josh was polite and helpful via phone, i had to send in and wait for new speaker they would expedite upon receiving my return. (why? u have my visa?) I ordered too fast and chose blue intending to grab black, oh well, but take note when ordering. I hate to review this early w/o the second one......we'll see.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from partyboost not compatible with connect+ seriously how about connect+ speakers be updated to partyboost so we would connect the speakers we have like flip 4, charge 4, extreme 2, pulse 3, boombox,etc. so we can connect to the newer speakers like the flip 5 and pulse 4
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You cannot kill this speaker Dropped this speaker off my kayak near my place in tampa bay. Chalked it up as a goner and was ready to buy a new one because I thought it was a great speaker. Well 6 days go by and I’m at the same spot where I lost it when I see what looks to be the speaker in the water. Not only did I somehow find it but after being submerged in saltwater for six days and half buried into the sand bottom, it worked immediately! Pulled it out of the water and this thing still had half the battery left and worked like new.
Date published: 2021-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where to begin? I agonize over some purchases. Sparing you the details of my lifelong love affair with sound, After 6 months i settled on the JBL Flip 5. (It fits in a bike water bottle cage) Then I discovered the customization feature on the JBL site. Well. Now. I had to do a play on old-school xmas wrapping paper that used to send my bro in law into a fit. Then, i got a huge surprise during the first listen. Oh my. This thing is pure. Right now it’s streaming Funky Friday on xpn. Yes, my JM labs and n.a.d. sound a bit better, but can they ride a bike? Nope. Amazing.
Date published: 2020-09-11
  • y_2023, m_1, d_31, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_92, tr_1201
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblflip5-, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

Is the red a bright red or darker red?

Asked by: Rfoster
Our JBL Flip 5 in color red is bright red.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

Experiencing static from my portable jbl

Asked by: JeanJ
We're sorry to hear about what happened. Here are some troubleshooting steps for us to check your JBL Flip 5: 1. Please avoid placing the speaker where there could be wireless interference ex. Wifi routers, because this can cause static noise. 2. Try using a different music player and if you're using an equalizer, turn it off. 3. Try to pair the speaker to a different source ex. 99phone, tablet) for us to check if you'll experience the same problem using a different device. You may also reset the speaker to check if this can help fix the problem: While the unit is On, press Volume + and Phone (Play) button at the same time for 2-3 seconds until the unit turns off. It has now been restored to factory default settings. If the problem persists, please contact us so we can check your options: https://support.jbl.com/us/en/#contact
Answered by: Leon at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-07-01

How do I get sound out of my flip?  Need to know how to operate .

Asked by: Vcal
Hi there, our JBL FLip 5 must be connected to a music source via Bluetooth. Please visit our website and consult our Bluetooth Pairing Guide : https://support.jbl.com/us/en/product-support/bluetooth-pairing-guide.html
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this have a volume button?

Asked by: phondo2
Our JBL Flip 5 has a volume plus and minus buttons.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Where can i get a replacement red passive radiator for my jbl flip 5

Asked by: nwalsh17
Unfortunately, parts for our JBL Flip 5 are not available. If you have other questions, please reach out to us at https://bit.ly/2Jc8wJp
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

I have a Flip 5 with a usb port damaged so bad that it needs replacement. What are my options?

Asked by: Anonymous
We have a one-year limited coverage for our products. Please reach out to our Customer Support so we could explore your options. We're here to help.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you put two Flip 5’s in stereo without using the app?

Asked by: CW1234
No, you will need our JBL app to connect the two JBL Flip 5.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

If any JBL product is used in the "bypass mode," does that void the warranty of all damages or only the ones from the bypass mode? Does using this mode void warranty from other sellers such as Best Buy?

Asked by: Semi811
Using a JBL Product in "Bypass mode" voids the warranty of all damages made in the product and voids the manufacturer's warranty. Retailer warranty will be on their discretion of the damage made.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is there a way to fix the sound coming out of one side of the speaker (left)? Happens at low volume, have not tried high

Asked by: MarkedMoss
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you:https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

How can I tell how much charge the speaker has? When is the charging indicator supposed to be lit and when should it be dark? Mine currently is always dark except when it's charging and right when it turns on. But then the light goes away.

Asked by: Anonymous
The battery indicator is never always on. It lights up whenever you plug it in to charge, turn the speaker on, or whenever you press a button.
Answered by: Homer DLR
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the operating range from my device (phone)?

Asked by: jacki202018
The Bluetooth range varies. However, you should get up to 15 meters (just under 50 ft) when using the product indoors. If you are using the speakers outside, conditions vary based on surroundings and obstructions.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this have the voice assistance just like the flip 4 ?

Asked by: Jeff Trippin
Hi there, the new Flip 5 does not include the internal microphone. Due to the overwhelming response we received from customers complaining about the music stopping when a phone call was received from their connected device, our product designers decided to remove the internal microphone to prevent this from happening. Because the microphone was removed, voice assistant is no longer possible. Please follow us for news and updates.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you pair more than 2 speakers?

Asked by: PandaRN
Yes, you can pair 2 JBL Flip 5 in stereo mode using the partyboost feature. You can also link multiple JBL partyboost-compatible speakers together. Please visit our website to get more information about this product. https://bit.ly/3klCgp5
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2021-10-28

I understand this does not act as a speakerphone. But if I am listening to music via Bluetooth from my iPhone, will the speaker ring? I need to leave Bluetooth on as I use it in the car, but do not want the speaker to ring if I am called.

Asked by: MAEBW
The JBL Flip 5 will not ring when a call comes since it doesn't have the speakerphone capability. The notification and call will go through your phone. If you have more questions, please reach out to our Customer Support. https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does the flip 5 have a voice assistant and speakerphone like the flip 4?

Asked by: karan46
Hi there, our JBL Flip 5 doesn't have a voice assistant nor a speakerphone like the Flip 4, instead, it has an improved sound quality and a new feature called JBL Partyboost which lets you connect up to 100+ speakers with the JBL Partyboost feature.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I need a little help, it's okay to get a charge 4 or a good jbl flip 5. No problem about money.which Sound quality is better in these two.how about bass quality?

Asked by: Gold
Hi there, thanks for the question. Our JBL Charge 4 features a proprietary developed driver and two JBL Bass Radiators that intensify sound with strong deep bass and you can also charge your devices with it as well such as your smartphone. You can also connect the Charge 4 to other JBL speakers that have the JBL Connect+ feature built-in. Our JBL Flip 5, despite its size, can put out its own high levels of high-quality sound and bass for a small speaker with its main feature being portability. You can check out this link to get to familiarize yourself with both high-quality products: https://support.jbl.com/us/en/
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can I pair multiple JBL speakers to one phone to play the same music in multiple rooms? Does the speakers require their own internet connection?

Asked by: Brenq8i8
Our JBL Flip 5 doesn't require an internet connection and has a feature that allows other JBL PartyBoost speakers to connect to each other.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

If you pair 2 flip 5s will you have true stereo or just 2 speakers playing mono?

Asked by: Eddiem223
If you simply press on the JBL Partyboost button on both of our JBL Flip 5, they will only play mono together. But with our JBL Connect app, you can play them through stereo. If you need more help, please contact us here: https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

The latch (movable part) on the clip of my Flip 3 broke and is lost - can I get this part sent to me?

Asked by: Craver360
For parts external parts availability of our products, please reach out to our Customer Support so we could assist you. You may call us at 800-422-8027. Monday to Friday from 9 am to 11 pm (ET), Saturday and Sunday 9 am to 5 pm.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I am using my JBL FLIP 5 for the first time. When charging should the charging light go off after a short time?

Asked by: JSIII
Thanks for your inquiry. When charging the JBL Flip 5, the blinking LED shows how far charging has progressed. When fully charged, the LED lights will turn off.
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2022-12-19

Can I answer phone calls through the speaker?

Asked by: Driver
Our JBL Flip 5 is designed for music. It can't receive calls since it has no mic and speakerphone function. You may check our JBL Flip 4 which has a built-in microphone that can be used as a speakerphone.
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2021-10-13

what is range from the source

Asked by: Martin 64
The Bluetooth range of our products varies. You should get up to 10 - 15 meters when using Flip 5 indoors. When using the speaker outside, conditions vary based on the surroundings. For the best connectivity results, please make sure that the devices have a clear line of sight between them.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

How do I add the JBL Flip 5 speaker to my cart?

Asked by: dkarpp821
This is a known issue, and our IT's are currently working on our page. This error is caused by our users clicking "Add to Cart" before the page loads completely. We advise our customers to go back to the previous page, click back into the Product Detail Page, wait 15-20 seconds to allow the page to load completely, and then proceed with "Add to Cart". If you need more help, please reach out to our Customer Support. https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

I understand that the Flip 5 has no 3.5 mm connector. Can the Flip 5 receive and play audio via the USB-C or is it Bluetooth only? If it can work do I need to use a 3.5 mm to USB-C adaptor?

Asked by: JBLUSBC35
The USB-C connector of our JBL Flip 5 is only for charging purposes. Adaptors will not work with it.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Why does my JBL Flip 5 keep cracking when I am playing music, and it is only at half the volume?

Asked by: Andrewb
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you: https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

how do I play phone call audio through this speaker?

Asked by: valonghair
Our JBL Flip 5 speakers does not support speakerphone mode.
Answered by: Chastine
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the jbl flip 5 input power? Is it 100-240v? Meaning if i buy it from canada, does it work in europe as well? 

Asked by: Ffrb
Our JBL Flip 5 power rating is 5V 2A. If you're going to charge the speaker to a different country, we suggest using an adapter.
Answered by: Leon at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I've paired 2 JBL Flip 5 speakers which work fine individually but when used in PartyBoost they fade in and out and sometimes click. I have consulted the app which is of no help. I'm also not able to assign L & R speakers via the app. What could the issue

Asked by: jms30s
JBL Flip 5 has the PartyBosst feature, which allows you to connect other PartyBoost enabled speakers. The JBL Connect App allows you to set the speakers of the same model to be on stereo mode. We'd like to know more information and try some troubleshooting steps so we could isolate the issue. Please reach out to our Customer Support, and our representatives will reply within 24-48 hours. https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

My JBL Flip5 seems to hit a limit with increasing the volume. The volume is not particularly loud, I'd say medium, when it makes this sound when I press the + button and won't get any louder. Any ideas?

Asked by: Rebekah
Please use your source device to increase your volume if our JBL Flip 5 is at maximum volume. If you need more help, please contact us here: https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Why changed the connect+??? I planned to buy a flip5 but I will not, because not compatible with my xtreme 2.

Asked by: Trell
Thanks for your feedback, Trell. We've made some enhancements with the JBL Flip 5. The Party Boost is an improved version of the JBL Connect+, which improves the Bluetooth reliability of inter-speaker connections.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06
  • y_2023, m_1, d_30, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_391
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblflip5-, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13ms
  • questions, product

Support

Register your JBL product

Do you own this product? Register it here in case you need to claim warranty

Register Now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Are you looking for product support, documentation, how-tos or older products?

JBL Support