JBL Charge 2+
$94.95 Price reduced from $149.95 to Save 37%
0.0 (0)
Write a review

Features

null

Wireless Bluetooth Streaming

Wirelessly stream high-quality stereo sound from your smartphone or tablet.

null

6000mAH Rechargeable Battery

Built-in rechargeable Li-ion battery supports up to 12 hours of playtime and charges devices via the USB port.

null

Speakerphone

Take calls from your speaker with a touch of a button - crystal clear thanks to the noise and echo cancelling speakerphone.

null

Splashproof

Splashproof means no more to worrying about rain or spill, you can even clean it with running tap water. Just don't submerge it.

null

Social Mode

Music has never been this social, connect up to 3 music sources to the same Charge 2+ and have a listen to everyone's favorite tunes.

null

JBL Bass Radiator

Hear the bass, feel the bass, see the bass. Dual external passive radiators demonstrate just how powerful your speakers are.

Specs & Downloads

Item# CHARGE2PLUSREDAM

Description

Listen wirelessly. Charge endlessly

The renewed JBL Charge 2+ is an ultra-powerful, ultra-big-battery portable Bluetooth speaker with high-quality stereo sound. Revamped with fresh styles and a splashproof design, the Charge 2+ takes the party everywhere – be it poolside or dancing in the rain – and amplify the excitement with JBL Bass Radiators. The speaker is powered by a 6000mAh battery that provides an incredible 12 hours of playtime and can charge all your devices, like your smartphone or tablet, via USB. Charge 2+ also comes with a built-in noise and echo cancelling speakerphone so you make crystal clear calls with the press of a button. Trade off as DJs with your friends to share everyone’s favorite tunes with Social Mode by connecting up to 3 music sources to the speaker and taking turns playing music.

Device Compatibility

Bluetooth

General Specifications

Output power (W)
15

Audio Specifications

Signal-to-Noise Ratio
>80 dB
Frequency Response
75Hz – 20kHz

Speaker Specifications

Transducer
2 x 45mm

Dimensions

Width (mm)
185.2
Weight (kg)
600 g
Depth (mm)
79
Height (mm)
79

Features

Bluetooth

Waterproof

What's in The Box?

  • 1 x JBL CHARGE 2+
  • 1 x 5V 2.3A USB Adapter
  • 1 x Micro USB Cable
  • 1 x Safety Sheet
  • 1 x Quick Start Guide
  • 1 x Warranty Card
What's in The Box?

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing and best bluetooth speaker ever Hi I have this since it was launched. I am very happy with the sound quality it has. But I have a problem here that, anyone can connect to it and disturb my running songs. How that can be avoided?, Please help
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this 2 years ago, been with me on the sandy beaches around the world. Many beers and beverages have been spilled on this device and it's still flawless. The quality is still great no problems with it whatsoever.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blow Away Just got mine today and the bass just blew me away! I was like "woah this is loud!". Didn't expect that from a speaker this portable and inexpensive. I just made my room into an instant dance club. And it's also splash proof so that's a plus since I love going to the beach! Now I'm a fan! Good job, JBL!!!
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of bass, and is very clear. It's a great speaker, but even tho I don't have social mode on, other people can connect to it at the same time. And I don't know how to fix it.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring it back!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it. I want it back, mines broken with only one side working. Still sounds better than the xtreme. Deep sound, ughhhhhhh bring it backkkkkkkkk.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I needed a small speaker for the operating room and looked at many of these including the Bose. The speaker is fantastic, great range, great bass and battery life is very long. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speaker This is exactly what I wanted. Great value for a great quality speaker! The bottom piece has rubber on it to keep it from sliding on surface. I wish that piece was a little bigger. It seems top heavey
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing sound bought a while back ago and loved it amazing sound and I like hoe it vibrated plus the charging was nice sadly I let my friend borrow it and he "lost" it
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sound Quality I've had mine for over 3 weeks and it is better than all other speakers at this price.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birthday present I bought this for a birthday present as I have had one for a year and love it.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound and easy to use I bought this for my son's birthday. Excellent sound for size and price. Easy to use. Would recommend
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIG & REALLY GREAT SOUND Great choice i made to get this! not one single regret!!!! love it! High clarity, great batt life too. go for it! it makes great sound to be portable. Now i carry great sound with me- everywhere!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth EVERY Penny! I just bought this dime piece earlier tonight. I already own a Beats speaker and originally walked into Best Buy determined to purchase a portable Bose speaker ... LUCKILY the employees sold me on this speaker and I am so impressed! Glad I made this purchase and not the Bose. The base alone is unreal but the sound all together is crystal clear. Definitely recommend this to any and everyone debating on making the purchase!
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from May JBL reign for centuries! This is the most awesome item i have ever purchased for by budget! JBL has done a great service to the world wide music lovers! All the features it contains are superb! Love u and thank u JBL!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The higher note! Perfection in every way, clear sound with powerful bass.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazong sound i feel like it could be louder and that the first jbl charge was louder than this one but i like the build in mic.. everyone can hear me and i them.. no issues yet and i had it for a day so far... im worried about having it in the rain because the back isnt protected (usb ports)... but besides bose no one does it like JBL
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from im in love MUST BUY THIS IS THE BEST SPEAKER I HAVE EVER BOUGHT... and i have bought a lot of speakers. JBL is the best brand.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound & design! I bought the red one yesterday. It sounds very good. It's such a little monster!
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound reproduction!... I bought JBL Charge 2+ six months ago. I've been playing all kinds of music with it. I'm amazed with the quality of sound reproduction. I would describe it as "monitor" sound; meaning that the speaker plays anything - as it is: FLAC or MP3s with high quality are excellent, while bad recordings sound... bad... as they are. Excellent bass, mid and high frequency reproduction - although sometimes bass is "more" present, but never annoying or "booming". Extremely well built speaker, robust and "worry free" built, suitable for both indoor or outdoor use. Especially in outdoors it is amazing how well the sound is defined, sounds almost the same as indoors. Very solid feeling of touch and use; splash proof is an extra advantage too!.. It's a kind of surprise to many people listening to it. They've been left speechless from the sound quality, when they realized it was coming from such a small speaker!. Powerful, rich and accurate sound out of such a small "box"... IMO a very well balanced speaker, in terms of frequency response. I'm sure JBL did a great job in terms of built-in compressor / limiter equalization firmware, resulting in such a high quality sound reproduction. Excellent voices, pianos, drums, guitars... All this without any distortion, at any level. A really pleasant speaker to listen to music! All it needs is... well recorded music!... Very long lasting battery life. Most of the times it lasts for the 12 hours claimed by JBL. Charging my smartphone while "performing" music is a great feature too!... Highly recommended for all kinds of music lovers!...
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Little Speaker I bought this just based on the store display.I thought it sounded amazing there.Once I got it home I was just blown away.It lends very well to the metal and hard rock I listen to. Not to much bass,just right. The vocals come out so clear you can almost hear the singer take a breath. Awesome product. I am now a JBL fan for life.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg I love it my dad got it for me and the volume is amazing just found out its splash proof which is ever better and the red one is the coolest if you ask me
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bluetooth speaker This is my 3rd JBL. I had the 1st JBL charge, but it was stolen, twice. It's a must have so I can have my tunes at work, so I went to buy another at Best Buy. They no longer carry the original, so I bought the Charge 2+. It's slightly bigger, but not much, and the sound quality is a little better too, although the JBL charge sounded good. And the Charge 2+ is the same price. My only disappointment is that it no longer comes with the protective carry case. Come on JBL, we need the carry case. Other than that, it's great!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best speaker ever !!!!!!! Ive had several cheep speakers so I broke bad and bought this one and its the best one right out of the box been playing it sense ive taken it out.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loud... I bought this after I heard my brother's JBL. It's very balanced between treble and bass. It has the auxiliary input which is always great because I'm old school and I have a Zune. Unfortunately I also have a MacBook Pro which is "electronically racist" and wont pair with the speaker. (I've had this issues with 3 other devices so it's not surprising). Battery. It holds a charge for a long time. I haven't used the hands free. So I can't say much about that. I'm very satisfied, thus far.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocking the Cycling I bought this last week to put in a spare water bottle cage on my bike. 130 miles later and it has earned its keep. Inside the house it is awesome. However on the bike like any other time you deal with the wind, bass is lost. This is expected, its a frequency thing, not the fault of the speaker. It is LOUD though. iI can still hear it at 25mph. The frequency response is as good as the bluetooth sending device. I found that with an EQ app on my HTC One, i can get it really dialed in nicely.
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound and base quality. I just brought it on Saturday. I am extremely satisfied with its sound and base quality.Before purchase, I also compared charge II with the boxx mini.The charge 2+ worth for the money
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I bought it a few months ago, and very pleased. Since I use it most of the time in the kitchen I enjoy washing the dishes much more! :)))
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good Sound, Bad Tech. I bought this speaker about 3 months ago and was impressed with the sound but terribly disappointed that this cannot use JBL connect app. Guess it is what it is but why, it's your latest technology and you choose not to use it. Upgraded to the xtreme and would love to connect them but nope can't happen.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best one I'd buy it again... This is my second one...I left my first one on a trip
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bass makes me cry The bass on this speaker is superb way better than my beats pill. This literally has two subs bumping on it
Date published: 2015-05-29
  • y_2022, m_11, d_26, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_254
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblchargeiiplus, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

Does the Charge 2+ support JBL ConnectInt like the JFlip3? In other words, can I connect multiple devices: JFlip3, Charge 2+, etc? I already own a JFlip3 which I love, but would like to try the Charge 2+.

Asked by: KerryInRaleigh
No, only the JBL Xtreme and Flip 3 have JBL Connect. 
Answered by: Sly247
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this Bluetooth Speaker allow me to play songs from a desktop computer via Bluetooth?

Asked by: ntalloju
It says in the item description that you can stream from any bluetooth enabled device including bluetooth enabled laptop and desktop computers.
Answered by: Jay W
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the latest version number of the firmware for the Charge 2 Plus?

Asked by: Tyler99
The latest version number of the CHARGE 2+ is 1.4.8.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can this be mounted on a jet ski?

Asked by: Carrie74
We do not recommend mounting our portable speakers onto Alternative Transportation Vehicles. Any damage caused by altering the speaker in order to mount it, will not be covered under warranty.
Answered by: Steven M
Date published: 2021-06-06

hi! i have a jhbl charge 2+ and can i use it at the same time while it's being used as a powerbank? 

Asked by: jiggy
Yes you can use the CHARGE 2+ while you are using it as a power bank. Just a small disclaimer though, it would be natural that the battery of the CHARGE 2+ will drain faster when in use and is charging a mobile device.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

What cable do I need to order, to connect to PC?

Asked by: Ichibaba
The CHARGE 2+ has an aux input at the back right in the middle of the charging and the USB port. If you would to connect the CHARGE 2+ to your PC, you can use a 3.5mm audio cable available at any local electronics store.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, is it possible to change the bass level? It is a bit to much. I use Chromecast Audio with Spotify & Tuneln for it, Best Regards, Herbert

Asked by: Herbert
Thank you for the inquiry. There are third party apps with equalization available for adjusting bass and treble levels. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is the maximum distance to connect a tablet or smartphone to the jbl speaker? (Jbl speaker 2 plus)

Asked by: Danilo
The manufacturer says in eye sight up to 30 feet. But recommended is about 20 feet.
Answered by: Phoenix76
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, how will i know if the jbl charge 2+ is already full charge? 

Asked by: koolkat04
Thank you for the inquiry. This product has 5 battery level indicator led's. All 5 will illuminate solid white when the battery completes charging. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

My jbl charge 2+ light is turned on and does not make any thing else

Asked by: Seso
Hello Seso. We would like to work with you directly. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

I've tested the splash proof feature. After i get the speaker out of the water, when being shook it sounds like there is water in speaker, eventually after i shake it for a while the water comes out of it and the speaker still works fine. Is this normal?

Asked by: John T
The CHARGE 2+ is only splash proof and not water proof, meaning, the speaker cannot or is not supposed to be submerged in water. It would be dangerous to use the speaker with water present inside the speaker as it may cause the battery to explode. Our waterproof speaker is the CHARGE 3 which can be submerged in water without the risk of water entering the speaker.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi Can I plug my Ipod Nano (4th or 5th generation) on it? There is no wireless connection. I wonder if I could make it trhough P2-P2 or USB conecction. Cheers

Asked by: Doug Beleze
You can plug the 4th or 5th Gen iPod Nano to the CHARGE 2+ via the AUX port and not the USB port. The USB port is only used for charging mobile devices such as your iPod Nano and cannot be used for audio streaming from a device.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

My JBL Charge 2+ indicates fully charged in a very short time but this is clearly not the case, as the battery will be fully discharged in about 30 minutes. It seems likely the battery must be malfunctioning. Any other ideas?

Asked by: JBL MDC
We would like to work with you directly. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Zoe at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

I'm having problems with my JBL Charge2 + the small connection to speaker doesn't charge the speaker what can I get so I be able to charge it

Asked by: Martha
The CHARGE2+ can only be charged through the micro USB port. If the speaker is no longer charging through the micro-USB port there could be some issues with the speaker. please do send an email case to www.jbl.com/contactus and our customer support team would be more than happy to assist you on the warranty of your device.
Answered by: Jaycob at CustomerService
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can i play songs from a pen drive ?

Asked by: Nishantha
No. The CHARGE 2+ and all our portables does not have a port that can read pen/flash drives.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

My speaker I received for Christmas and finally got a chance to get out and I am attempting to charge it but the five lights on top never go past 3 lit up and the fourth one blinking. Does this mean it isn't getting a full charge?

Asked by: KatieFulkerson
Hello, Thank you for your inquiry. Correct. All five led's should be illuminated at full charge. Please disconnect any device connected via aux or bluetooth. Connect the charger to an outlet and allow at least four hours of charge time. This unit carries a 1 year manufacturers warranty. If issue persists you can contact our support center at 1-800-336-4525 and request a return authorization (RA) under warranty replacement. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

How can I use the speakerphone in my new JBL Charge 2? . I cannot find it in the manuals.

Asked by: carlsosito19
When you receive a call from your phone while the Charge 2+ is connected via Bluetooth , simply press on the phone button to activate the speakerphone function. If you are having issues with your Charge 2+, please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can I pair or "sync" Multiple speakers together or at same time??? IE: have Phone sync to one speaker in one room and have a 2nd or 3rd speaker in another room so they are playing the same music at same time??

Asked by: Tom W
The CHARGE 2+ is not a JBL Connect enabled speaker. The only models with this feature that you can connect together are FLIP 3, BOOST TV, CHARGE 3, XTREME and PULSE 2. However, if you would like to connect the CHARGE 2+ and the XTREME to play one source device, you can use an AUX splitter cable which can be purchased at any electronics store.
Answered by: Ren at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this unit have auto shut-off? If I have ipod plugged in and album ends (no more music) will the unit shut itself off? Or if I walk away with my phone and it receives no more bluetooth signal. I see no reference to this in manual

Asked by: UpperKeys
Thank you for the inquiry. This product has power save features. When no audio signal is detected the speaker will suspend and then turn off. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does this work well in a bathroom environment? a

Asked by: asolo636
Hello, Thank you for the inquiry. It does with proper care and usage. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

can I connect 2 JBL Charge 2+ speakers for a stereo effect?

Asked by: Tiny
Hello, Thank you for the inquiry. No. The JBL Connect feature is not available with this product. However, it is with the Flip 3, Pulse 2 and Xtreme. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

I have 2 JBL Charge 2's and I get confused as to which is which as they list with the same name on my phone and tablet, can I change the Display name of one of them?

Asked by: CostaMesa
No, the Bluetooth name can't be change on the JBL Charge 2+.
Answered by: Aj at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, my speakerphone/mic. is not working good, when make a phone call people barely hear me ? I want to clean the mic but don’t know how, can you please help ?

Asked by: Salafiy
We would like to work with you directly to help you with your issue. Please submit a case request at https://www.jbl.com/support-contact.html and the Customer Service Team will be more than happy to assist you.
Answered by: Steven M
Date published: 2021-06-06

I am unable to connect it to my computer. I'm running windows 7 (64 bit). I see's that there's a speaker but can't find the driver,

Asked by: Waqar
Hi Waqar, and thank you for supporting JBL! Your speaker uses the same drivers as all BT speakers: A2DP, stereo audio streaming over BT. Your computer will support a mouse, a keyboard, a printer over BT, but seems not to have audio support. This means that you must contact support for either your computer or the manufacturer of your BT chip to get help in obtaining the necessary audio drivers. Or you can seek advice from forums that share info about your computer.
Answered by: Bo Harman
Date published: 2021-06-06

HI Can you tell me if this unit can be charged via a USB conection (ie similar to IPOD charging via USB) as well as direct into wall outlet? How does this unit compare in size to the Charge?

Asked by: Theo60
Yes, the unit can be charged directly to a wall outlet or via any USB ports on a computer/laptop. The CHARGE 2+ is fairly similar in size to the CHARGE.
Answered by: Amir at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can I use an auxiliary cable with a split off my phone to get stereo sound with two charge 2+'s?  One would be my left speaker, and one my right?

Asked by: Billythekidd
Hello, Thank you for your inquiry. No. This would not produce a two channel stereo listening environment. The JBL Charge line was not designed to function this way. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06

What is JBL Charge 2+ IP?

Asked by: Matiss
The CHARGE 2+ doesn’t have nor get assigned an IP address. However, if you are pertaining to the IPX which is for waterproofing, it is just a splash proof.
Answered by: Erik at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can two Charge 2+ be linked together to give a surround sound effect?

Asked by: pquint160
This product is not a JBL Connect enabled speaker which can be linked together. When 2 identical JBL Connect speakers are linked, a stereo sound option is available using an app called JBL Connect.
Answered by: Joe G at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

On the battery indicator. Mine will never charge until the fifth light stays on? Is this normal or a sign of a bad battery?

Asked by: Vw nut
This is normal. The five lights on the CHARGE 2+ directly show the amount of charge that the unit already has, turning on one by one, showing its progress. When the CHARGE 2+ is fully-charged all these lights will turn off.
Answered by: Ren at Customer Service
Date published: 2021-06-06

My JBL Charge 2+ battery indicator lights turn on one-by-one when it is plugged in and charging. But, after a full charge and when in use, the indicator lights turn off. I'm unable to see how much battery is left when using the speaker. Is this normal?

Asked by: TRVL777
Thank you for the inquiry. Yes. This is normal. This is a power save feature. By pressing a button or enabling/disabling a feature the battery level led's will illuminate for a short period of time providing status. Best Regards.
Answered by: Zoltan
Date published: 2021-06-06
  • y_2022, m_11, d_26, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_320
  • loc_en_US, sid_jblchargeiiplus, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • questions, product

Support

Register your JBL product

Do you own this product? Register it here in case you need to claim warranty

Register Now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Are you looking for product support, documentation, how-tos or older products?

JBL Support